As a resident of Texas, you should know the Texas minimum auto insurance requirements. Although most insurance companies won’t let you select a policy that doesn’t provide enough coverage, it’s a good idea to know the facts. The current Texas minimum auto insurance liability limits are $30,000 for each injured person, up to a total of $60,000 per accident, and $25,000 for property damage per accident. This basic Texas minimum auto insurance coverage is called 30/60/25 coverage. There are penalties for not having insurance, or even enough insurance. You could face a fine between $175 and $350 the first time, and after that you could lose your license and have to pay expensive penalties. Make sure your auto insurance policy meets the Texas minimum auto insurance requirements.